lesson learned

The week and a half following ‘the incident’ was a pretty weird time. I felt completely out of sorts and not at all myself. After a bit of research and lots of talking, Saron posed the idea that perhaps my drink was spiked that fateful night.

I had never given it a second thought, but now that I think back, it makes sense. I’m really conscious of not being the girl who blames someone or something else for a poor drunken decision – but I’m no girl who cried wolf. After Saron’s research, too many symptoms of drink spiking mirrored exactly what I experienced;

  • loss of motor skills
  • loss of vision
  • loss of hearing
  • loss of memory
  • loss of inhibition

…and I only had half a glass of wine more than Tweedles. May I add, Tweedles is the queen of bad hangovers yet after a night drinking nearly the exact same amount, wasn’t hungover the next day – yet here I was fainting, dizzy, shaking and very ill.

I’m still not claiming anything that went on wasn’t consensual but what happened only happened due to a lack complete loss of all inhibitions. I realise I’m not entirely without blame, I was silly stupid for staying out with a group of strangers alone. I was even more stupid to let a drink be bought for me and to have drunk it without seeing where it came from. While I accept partial blame, I still feel violated and feel quite unsafe. I’ll get over it, I’ll shake it off – but it’s a pretty weird feeling, situation and experience to work through.

I may have learnt my lesson the hard way, but at least I have learnt it;

Never accept a drink that has been given to you without seeing where it has come from.

xo bambi

distanced hearts club ♥

3 thoughts on “lesson learned

  1. Thank goodness it ended the way it did! You really don’t have that much responsibility in this. A woman SHOULD be able to go out with a friend, enjoy libations, talk to strangers, and enjoy a fun and safe evening.

    It definitely sounds like you were slipped something which is disgusting an deplorable but even if you weren’t that guys behavior remains just as disgusting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

